AFTERWORLDS BY SCOTT WESTERFELD

I literally can not stop thinking about this book.

The originality, the genius of Scott Westerfeld. I didn’t think a book could be that mind blowing. Whilst reading it I wasn’t as mind boggled as I am now  but the more it plays on my mind, the more I am desperate to hold a candle to this brilliant book.
Spilt in two, Afterworlds follows the character and the creator as their journey expands into places they would never expect their life to end up. Darcy, at just aged 18 has been signed by a major publishing house to release her first book ‘Afterworlds’. Postponing college for a year, she moves to New York, to start life a fresh and finish editing her book. Alternate chapters lets the reader explore ‘Afterworlds’ and follows Darcy’s character Lizzie after she survives a terrorist threat in the airport. Being the only survivor she can slip between the living and the dead, and this new powers turns her world upside down.
I picked this book up because ‘hello’ it was writing by Scott Westerfeld, the genius behind Uglies. It’s a lovely thick book, perfect for my need to escape assignments and life.
The way he wrote it, the seamless mix between the alternating stories and perfect characterisation were what made me fall in love. Neither Darcy or Lizzie were stereotypical YA heroines and the twists their lives took made me cling the pages in glee. I adored the paths he took them on! And I loved that Scott exposed the publishing side, even if it may not all be realistic. I didn’t care, I loved the insight!
And I genuinely can’t let the story go. I find my mind wandering to it, even after finishing the book weeks ago.
I can see this staying with me for a very long time.

4 thoughts on “AFTERWORLDS BY SCOTT WESTERFELD

  1. I’ll admit (begrudgingly) that the size of this book made me a little hesitant and the reviews I’d read were so vague. Thank goodness for your explanation of the plots, because now I’m dying to have it in my physical TBR pile! Thank you 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

