dead

DEAD BEAUTIFUL BY YVONNE WOON

I remember over a year ago this book appeared magically on the shelve at home. It’s sudden appearance confused me, as I was the only one in the house to read the genre. I finally learnt that one of my sister’s had bought it (obviously taking tips from my good sense of books), so I thought I take a stab at it, as the blurb made intriguing. And must say, this discovery was one for the better.

After the sudden death of her parents, Renee Winters’ grandfather sends her to the prestigious, and mysterious boarding school hundreds of miles away from her friends, boyfriend and awesome beach lifestyle. Instead, the backdrop of cold and dreary Maine isn’t the least of her worries. Gottfried Academy prides itself of the ‘unusual’ subject that Renee finds morbid. But admist the gloom, Renee catches the eye of campus mysterious man Dante Berlin, and his dark secrets could alter her life forever.

This book must be awesome. It’s proof; it is my go-to bath read every time. I found it such an interesting topic, as well as the change in modern culture so inviting. Every time I read it I find a new aspect to Gottfried life, or the mysterious surrounding it. I find the same with the character Renee, you absorb her character and becoming more accepting of her thoughts and not just sorry for her situation.

A main thrill of the read the first time is discovering Dante’s secret, which matches hand in hand with the Gottfried curse. When you think you might have it, the narrative takes an alternative turn and you want to come to so many conclusions that your mind may become frazzled. Even reading it numerous times, despite knowing what the plot leads up to, it is still an enjoyable read. Subtle clues are picked up every time, with a lot of ‘duuh, oh yeahs’ going on.

The relaxed style of writing makes this read worthwhile and why I go back to it every time for a soak in the bath. It isn’t forced, you don’t want to skips, every bit is worth a read. I thoroughly enjoy it every time.

And, as I was researching the cover I discovered that it has two fellow books, as it does end pretty open ended. I think they may be my next read, I’m excited.

One thought on “DEAD BEAUTIFUL BY YVONNE WOON

Leave a Reply

