if i stay

IF I STAY BY GAYLE FORMAN

I was thoroughly intrigued by the hype surrounding this book. I picked it up to see what it was all about. And I can tell you that I was not disappointed. So much so that I read it sat in the garden in one sitting.

After a snowy morning and a fatal car accident, Mia, a seventeen year old cellist is left devastated and in limbo as her whole life falls apart. Watching what happens in the hospital and reliving parts of her life she has to decide if it is worth staying or leaving with those who she loves.
I absolutely loved the topic and  story line. It was so different, a unique idea that I had never contemplated either. It wasn’t cheesy and that I really appreciated.
I liked that it didn’t go on too long. The writing had me constantly captivated and I just needed to keep reading on as it was an interesting way to lay out events.
I loved Mia and her personality. However, I wasn’t fully invested in her life and Adam though. I don’t know whether it was because I’m not a fan of romantic conquests or it was him himself I just felt that I couldn’t commit to his parts.
Unsure of the decision throughout, and this was what kept me reading. Each side of equally fought for and I totally got both but within the story it was forever teetering. I couldn’t make the decision and this is where Forman’s writing ability shone through.
Sadly the ending was abrupt. I finished the page and was like ‘What??!!’ I wanted, and felt like I had to read more. Saying that, it fitted with the whole book in general.
Now whilst I was not particularly moved by the book, it was excellently executed which captured me throughout. Different, difficult but maneuvered beautifully.

One thought on “IF I STAY BY GAYLE FORMAN

Leave a Reply

