ten rallies

TEN RALLIES BY PASQUIN

Well, what can I say about this book. It was certainly different. I picked it up on one of my kindle sprees and decided to read it this week. And well, it was an experience and a half.

Through the eyes of seventeen year old Reed, in his senior year of high school, partakes in a government experiment, CoreAmerica for 10 weeks. Splitting the school into two groups, soloism and groupism, the students are left to run each side for the duration of test. Reed discovers that it may not be as straight forward as it first seems and has to decide what he loves and what is right.

The first obvious difference is the narrative, using ‘You’ through. Weird at first, but once you (ha!) get into the book it doesn’t make too much of difference. But, it does draw you in, even if it takes a bit of getting used to. A risky narrative but I think it fitted the topics approached in the story. However, I still prefer first person because I couldn’t identify as well with the ‘You’ approach despite it being more direct.

It was written in such an awesome though, I wasn’t swamped by the politics that conducted the narrative. It was slotted in and I wasn’t fully aware of the criticism of the government and education system until further along in the book. I was more interested in the way Reed deals with everything, rather than the political backdrop.  Despite the pretense being pretty unreal, the narrative made it realistic, especially with the home story interjection. It was nice to see Reed grow. So, whilst the political criticism didn’t interest me really, the story of Reed’s development and outlook on life was interesting. That was the reason I kept wanting to read on.

If you want an alternative read to other YA fiction then this book fills the requirement. So different to anything I read before but was pretty good to be honest. Pasquin, thanks for the alternative read.

Leave a Reply

