THE UNBECOMING OF MARA DYER BY MICHELLE HODKIN

Brought this on a whim, the blurb sounded interesting and the cover beautiful. And I was thoroughly impressed. I was captivated for the most of it, unsure of where it was constantly heading but the ending fell flat, I would have liked more ends tied up please.

Mara Dyer wakes up in hospital with no memory at all. However, when she learns she was in a building collapse where her two best friends and boyfriend died, she can’t believe that she remained unharmed. Surely, there must be more to the accident than meets the eye.

As usual, it was the cover that drew me in. The swirls, the waves, the mysterious girl. Not to mention the deep dark colours, how could I not end up picking it up?!

Mara, Mara, Mara. Hmm, I’m still not sure what I make of her. On one hand she is independent and her own woman. Which I love. The other, she panders to need of Noah and appears quite weak without him. It’s conflicting and it hurts. I want to like her, but am going to have to read more if I am going to make a solid decision.

Noah, on the other hand. I like it when a male is described so beautifully. Even if arrogant, I couldn’t help but fall for him.

I found the believeabilty of this book a bit hard to get my head around. I know, I know, it IS fiction. But, when set in reality I like to think it could actually work. And this I struggled with.

However, the storyline was thrilling, and I thrived on the unknowningness of this book. I was desperate to find out, but Hodkin was reluctant to let me know. Grr! Frustrating yet brilliant at the same time.

I had ups and downs with this book. Intriguing yet annoying at the same time. But with the very ¬†open end demanding me to know more I don’t think I’ll leave it too long to get my hands in the next book.

Leave a Reply

