A FAULT IN OUR STARS BY JOHN GREEN

Okay. I zoomed through that. However, despite being beautifully lyrical at places and the intensity that tapped into the workings of a cancer patient, I sadly was not captivated by the saddened love affair that has grasped every one else. No sign of tears or deep emotion at all. I am afraid it just did not really stir anything in me.
Despite a miracle, Hazel has always been nothing but terminal ever since diagnostic. And when handsome stranger Augustus Waters turns up at her support group suddenly her life is worth more than living.

The hype. I had been meaning to pick this book up for a LONG time, ever since I had seen the film being released. There is so much love for it everywhere, I felt that perhaps I was missing out. And then when it was recommended for my other blog I knew I had no other option. So in the wonderful form of my housemate, the book was delivered to me and I pretty much got cracking straight away. High hopes had been led for this book. Unfortunately, it did not quite ring all my bells.
Saying that, the amount that the cancer has been researched and gone into in the book is incredible. The believability of Hazel’s everyday strugfle was one that left me in awe. I had never seen such realistic dimlemmas translated across the page. The tone in which it was dealt with amazes me. I love that it both dismisses and embraces stereotypes, crrating a better viee of Hazel’s world. It definitely opened up greater realisations for myself. The dry humour is was treasted eith too was refreshing, yet when there was a need to be serious it was treated right too.
I knew what happened even before reading the book, and felt whilst it did not distract my reading or alter it in any way, Augustus’ revelation may have cut me a bit. To be honest, it was the only bit my gut jigged with any sort of emotion.
I liked that it went straight in at the beginning, no faffing which was great. Augustus introduced by page nine and instantiously into Hazel, refreshing from the dance of unsure love. I liked that, was not expecting him for a good thirty pages and to be drawn out for a tension building hot guy. Instead it was bypassed and I surprisingly enjoyed it.
The entire storyline was not overhelming though. I was not blown away. I enjoyed the beginning and end but the middle turned a bit messy. I was not phased by their love. Instead, I appreciated it because of the situation John Green had created.
I felt bored by the inclusion Peter Van Houten and his story. Consistent referencing of a book within a book was not the way I felt the story moved forward. In Amsterdam, the whole confrontation annoyed me and felt unnecessary. This was the part that aggravated me the most, as it’s relevance was pretty much lost on me. It was just dragged out and tedious.
Every other character was well thought out though. I adored Hazel and Augustus to pieces and their casual disregard towards their fate. As with Isaac too.
John Green, it did not live up to the high expectations that others had placed it, but reflecting there were a lot of good elements pin pinted perfectly. I probably would not read the book again, but am definitely excited for it’s film release in the summer.

5 thoughts on “A FAULT IN OUR STARS BY JOHN GREEN

  1. As much as I enjoyed it, it didn’t bring any tears either! I wanted it to, I felt like there was so much hype about it, I liked the characters, I cared about them, but it didn’t make me cry. I felt bad because I felt like it was one of those things you should cry at unless your a heartless creature from another world. Oh well, I still love John Green’s work!

    Are you open to review requests???

    Like

  2. I wrote a book called Heir of the Unknown and it’s a first in a series of seven titled ‘The Water Travelers’ (the second book is also out.) If you have time in your schedule I would love for you to review it! I put the link and bio below if you’re interested 🙂

    Book Blurb Bio Thing:

    Adventure finds those who are brave enough to take the first step.

    Aaron never wanted to pursue kingship, but his care for the lives of his people forced him toward it. When his father, The King of Upitar, sends him on a quest to find a girl who was prophesied long ago to destroy their world, Aaron finds himself fighting the option of running away forever or fulfilling his destiny as the Heir of Upitar.

    By water traveling, a gift his people have that allows them to go back and forth between their world and Earth through water, Aaron starts this adventure with thousands of thoughts and questions racing around his head.

    While on his journey, he inadvertently meets the very girl he’s sent to kill, Madalyne Harper. Without knowing it’s her, an unlikely romance between the sarcastic and daring Madalyne Harper begins to flourish with the rebellious and curious, Prince Aaron Archien. As they grow closer, Aaron begins to learn of secrets within the Harper family regarding water travelers. Wanting to learn more, and wanting an excuse to hang out with Madi, Aaron continues to delay his original mission. As family problems and outside forces press down on them, Aaron and Madi soon find themselves running away together.

    Everything between them is great until Aaron learns the girl he has connected so well with is the same girl he’s going to have to kill…

    Link :

    http://www.amazon.com/Water-Travelers-Heir-Daniel-Waltz-ebook/dp/B00LSSEF18/ref=tmm_kin_title_sr?_encoding=UTF8&sr=8-2-spell&qid=1433550327

    – Dan

    Like

Leave a Reply

