THE KNIFE OF NEVER LETTING GO BY PATRICK NESS

Hmm. Upon recommendation by a friend I finally got around to reading this book. I wouldn’t necessarily pick it up myself but was intrigued by the blurb. However,  I found it hard to read and get along with and sadly am glad to have finished it.

Todd Hewitt is the last boy in Prentisstown. Once a boy reaches the age of thirteen he is a man and Todd is only a month away. However, everyone can hear each other’s thoughts in Prentisstown,  leading to an overwhelming Noise. And no females live there either, all wiped out by disease. That is until Todd finds silence in the swamp. A girl. And once he has discovered her everything he knows it unravelled as a lie and he has to run.
The first thing that I found incredibly frustrating about this book was the language. Argh. I know it should have been different and innovative, and likw what Todd would write but I couldn’t take it. The poor spelling just utterly frustrated me in ways I could not imagine. It almost overshadowed the story in general!
The introduction to the world Todd lived in was very clumsily put I thought. I did not feel like it flowed and found it hard to get into his life. The way the Noise described was brash but not in a way that worked with the book. And this meant it took me a while to get into the story.
I thought the idea of ‘promised land’ gone wrong was fresh but got lost and was not released until the last part of the book. The sheer amount of fighting was a bit off putting for me. Especially the amount of near death occurrences were just passed around. I honestly could not comprehend how Aaron managed to remain alive at all and the amount of walking without the stopping the young people did.
He introduction to Todd put me off a little bit, the beginning was a tad confusing. But the further I read the more I tolerated him. As with Viola,  and Manchee definitely grew on me. What was portrayed well though,  I thought, was the misogynistic hatred in Prentisstown. I had a thorough hatred for the members and liked that it was brought out in me.
This book. I can pretty much say for sure that I won’t be reading The Ask and the Answer even with the open ending of this book. I don’t think I can cope with the land, attitudes and constant battles anymore. I wasn’t impressed whilst reading or afterwards but it wasn’t the worse book I have read.

Leave a Reply

