THE HUNTED BY ALEX SHEARER

I wasn’t sure what to expect when I picked up this book, but I was pleasantly surprised by what I read. I was captured through by the different story line and the way it was written. Me like.

In a future world, children have become a commodity as people are able to live until they are 150 in exchange for fertility. A child is a rarity, and after Tarrin wins Deet in a card game he starts renting the child out to childless couples. Tarrin is determined to get enough money to give Deet the ‘Peter Pan’ operation, rendering Deet a child forever, Deet faces the dilemma of getting out of the awful predicament.

I was not expecting this book to be like this at all, and to be honest it was a refreshing discovery when I started reading it. I was not sure of it was going to be what a normally liked, but actually the story line was interesting, engaging and made me want to keep reading on and on.

The whole concept of this dysoptian world is scary, but also frightening realistic. The extent of detail that is woven throughout this story is gripping, and discovering how much darker, and sadder this world is is quite disturbing.

I really enjoyed reading the story through Deet’s eyes, and how the child is manipulated and powerless. It is particularly emotive and quite depressing at times. Yet, I could not stop reading. This world was just so different and captivating. And the adults that are forever children was actually quite bizarre to read about.

This book was emotive, weird and disturbing. Yet, it was a wonderful read, and one I actually quite enjoyed reading.

Leave a Reply

