THE BUNKER DIARY BY KEVIN BROOKS

This was different. This was gritty. And this had me captured throughout. Although, the writing at some points had me wanting to skip, I captured the scenes and essences perfectly. I felt I was there, and could feel for all the characters. I was caught by the ending, flicking the pages in utter disbelief. Kevin Brooks, this was brilliant.

After falling into a gritty trap, Linus wakes up in a sectioned bunker with no windows deep underground. The only point of access, a small lift he can not control. First alone, other kidnap victims start to appear, and Linus has to work out how to stay alive, if he is ever going to escape.

I picked this up on a whim and boy oh boy am I glad I did! It is not usually what I go for, but the sheer writing talent of Brooks has brought this book onto a whole other level. The deep, dark depths he reaches with his writing and the pure emotion that pours out onto the page is one I am in sheer awe of.

Linus as a character starts of very closed and I was intrigued to see his story develop and why on earth he is trapped in the bunker. He is relateable and a very easy protagonist read about, and the more I read, the more I wanted to understand him. And I am glad Brooks unravels that.

The spectrum of characters that Brooks uses is magnificent and really aides character development. Despite the scenarios is hurts the readers brain trying to piece what these strangers have in common, if anything at all. And that suspense on top of everything else had me hooked.

What remains most memorable, and will probably mean this book will stick in my mind for a very long time is the end. I was flicking the last pages in disbelief. Different, refreshing, depressing but a down-right genius ending.

I can’t stop thinking about this wonderfully disturbing novel. Just pure genius.

3 thoughts on “THE BUNKER DIARY BY KEVIN BROOKS

Leave a Reply

