THE LOST AND THE FOUND BY CAT CLARKE

When I found out that Cat Clarke was releasing a new book, I fangirled just a little – alright a lot. She is straight up one of my all time favourite authors, with such gritty topics presented in such a beautiful and illustrative way I can not help but fiercely admire her work. So when I found out that her new book had another deeply interesting subject matter that pushes the boundaries I knew that I was in for a treat. And oh boy was I right. This book just reinforced the reason that I love Cat Clarke’s work so damn much!

Faith was the only witness when her six year old sister went missing from their front garden. For thirteen years, her missing sister has dominated her life; media attention, her parents divorce and so called friends who are only interested in her sister.

But one expected afternoon Laurel is found in the garden of their old house, clutching the teddy bear she disappeared with the fateful afternoon. This event is what faith has always dreamed of, being reunited with her sister and getting back to a normal life. However, as her sister adjusts back into life Faith feels more and more uncomfortable and isolated. Having her sister return may not be as good as Faith had always dreamed of.

I absolutely adore the topic of this novel, so much. I found it interesting, engaging and seriously fascinating. I love the Cat explores the topics that are dark and shaded, it makes the read so much more gripping! And this book was no different. Although intentionally a happy book, the layers start to peel away until the topic becomes so raw I couldn’t stop reading. I was desperate to learn of the secrets that were woven throughout the book that I finished it far too fast for my own liking.

I think an important element to thiz book’s successful structure was that it was from Faith, the remaining sister’s perspective and not Laurel, the one who had returned. The characters were wonderfully portrayed in this novel. They were all so diverse, and had so many aspects that I wanted to explore it made the reading so effortless and surprising. The characters were predictable or typical, and I loved to see the emotions that may be avoided in other books of a similar topic I felt this made them much more relatable and gave a more realistic tone to the novel.

The emotion that was plowed into this novel was insane. There were so many highs and lowers, it actually became an emotional roller coaster. But I loved the feelings in this book. It meant that I could grasp, even the tiniest bit, of the torment and joy that they went through as well as understanding the position of each character not just Faith’s. This pushed it further than any other abduction book I had encountered.
I also really appreciated that it was set after Laurel had returned. I feel this led the path that made this book stand out in my mind.

I did feel the ending was a tad abrupt. I don’t know if it was because I just wanted to read more, but I felt a lot of the tangents in the story were unfinished. Like, what happened to Thomas?! There are so many ways to carry on this story but do understand the reason for that place to stop. We’d found out what the whole story had led up to, which I had anticipated but was still shocked when I read. I think this way it may play on my mind a whole lot longer.

Cat Clarke, I am ridiculously envious of how amazing you books always turn out. They are gripping, intriguing and ones I can never put down. This book has just completely cemented the reason why you are one of my favourite authors and The Lost and The Found sits firmly up there with Undone!

Leave a Reply

