UNCHANGED BY JESSICA BRODY

Interesting, engaging with ending that was wonderful yet sad to sit through. This book was a fitting finale to a series that has bounced back and forth through time. I had read the first two books in this series together so when I laid eyes on the third and final Brody book I knew I had to complete this series. And I was so glad that I did.

Sera is back at the Diotech compound and after going through experimental memory alteration is happy and in love with similarly genetically engineered Kaelen and under the watchful eye of Dr Alixter. About the be unveiled to the world, Sera feels remorsed for her past. But with memories of Zen flickering back, ones where he is not the bad guy in all of this, she isn’t sure how much longer she can stay loyal to Diotech and Dr Alixter.

Although I remembered the story to this book slightly, a lot of what I had read previously slipped my mind. As it has been a while since I had read the previous books, it too me a couple of chapters to get back into the swing of Sera and Diotech and to grasp the dynamics of the world once again. However, after I had spent some time I feel back into the swing of things again.
As so much time had passed and alliances completely changed, I felt this could have easily worked as a stand alone book as well as a fitting sequel. I really enjoyed the unveiling of Sera and Kaelen to the rest of the world. This elaborate gesture,and getting a glimpse into the resistance against them was fascinating to read about and Jessica Brody had done a good job of portraying that.

The unravelling of the dynamics of Sera, Kaelen and Dr Alixter was one that found so interesting to read. The change in character of Sera was needed to create these different dynamics and later to show the change in relationship with Zen. The last half of the book tied the whole series together wonderfully, and I adored getting to know Sera’s background.

The ending was magnificent and refreshing. A fitting end to a good series. I think my favourite book of the entire series. Unchanged is wonderful, Jessica Brody.

Leave a Reply

