THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER BY STEPHEN CHBOSKY

This book has been on my TBR pile for as long as I can remember. The film is a firm favourite of mine, and I had heard such good things about the book I knew I had to get in on the action. I’m just ashamed of myself of how it took me to get my hands. Because, hands down, it is one of the best books I have ever read. I know I say that kind of phrase about quite a few books, but from the first page of The Perks of Being a Wallflower, I was immersed into Charlie’s world. It was one that was so captivating and engaging to read, I hardly put the book down until I’d finished. Heck, it was so captivating I almost missed my stop because I was so engrossed. This book is so powerful and I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Charlie is just starting his freshman year. He isn’t the geekiest of students, nor is he the most popular. He just wants to navigate is way through school, whilst being socially awkward. He tries to fit in, and when seniors Patrick and Sam take him under his wing, Charlie finally starts to experience what high school is all about.

I genuinely didn’t think that I would fall that hard for this book. I mean, the film is purely magical in an emotional and although I wanted the book to carry the feelings across, I was a bit skeptical. However, there was no need to be. The book carried as smoothly and gently as the film. The tone was perfect and I could hear Charlie’s internal dialogue as if it was being spoken out loud.

Even though I knew what was going to happen when, reading the book kept the events shocking and raw. The tone used to approach these issues maintained Charlie’s innocence, whilst he tried to protect that of the readers. Chobsky creates such a delicate relationship between Charlie and the reader, it is almost impossible to separate yourself from the novel. And I think that is a reason why it is such a masterpiece.

So many issues were tackled in this book without being dramatised or remain the heavy focus. It almost blindsides the reading and the delicate and calm demeanor of Charlie aids the revelations that are placed in front of the reader. Charlie’s relationship with Sam and Patrick was so heart warming and the dybamics he has with the other characters are ones that are unique. This is what makes the book sure a fresh read.

I honestly feel blessed to have read this book, and am so glad that I finally got around to reading it. I urge anyone and everyone to prise this book open.  I promise you the contents will stay with you for a very, very long time.

Leave a Reply

