BEAUTIFUL BROKEN THINGS BY SARA BARNARD

This book kept popping up on my twitter feed and with a striking cover and interesting blurb I knew I just had to get my mitts on it. Much to my luck it stuck out in the  recently returned shelf of the library so I tucked it under my arm and took it home (after checking it out, of course) And am I so glad that I did. It was a book of many colours that kept me reading fast and furiously right into the middle of the night.

At sixteen Caddy and Rosie are inseperateble despite their differences. Caddy wishes she was more like Rosie – confident, interesting and funny. When Rosie brings Suzanne into their lives, Rosie sees a way to be more daring and fun. But becoming friends with Suzanne means that things start to become complicated between the friends. As they discover her past, Suzanne’s present starts to unravel too and Caddy starts to learn how much trouble a little bit of fun can be.

This was honestly so beautifully written. You know when you just get those books that are written in such a wonderful way that you physical say it out  loud whilst in the middle of reading. This is one of those books. It reads so smoothly and ease, I cannot praise Sara Barnard enough!

The diversity in the personalities of characters was one that worked really well. None of the characters were bland and the variety in their personalities were ones that blends really effortlessly. Their various backgrounds also made for an interesting read, and the way they interacted with each other made for a more interesting story.
The topics within the novel were incredibly interesting and I think this what captured me most if I am honest. The chosen themes to cover were scattered throughout the novel and hit me left, right and centre, especially when I wasn’t expecting some of them. Similarly, it kept me wanting to read on and on. The one aspect I wasn’t too sure on was the abuse. I’m not sure if it was the way it was handled or approached, or just that I felt a bit uncomfortable about it. Either way, it was enlightening.

Another soft spot for this novel stemmed from the location it was set – Brighton. It is a place I spent a lot of my time at, and was a pleasant surprise to read a novel set in the wonderful city.

I’d definitely recommend this read. It hit a lot of boxes for me -with character, theme and setting. But even if those don’t hit yours, I honestly implore you to read it work the wonderful way it is written alone!

 

7 thoughts on “BEAUTIFUL BROKEN THINGS BY SARA BARNARD

Leave a Reply

