BIRDY BY JESS VALLANCE

Chosen on a whim from the library because of an intriguing front cover, Birdy was such a pleasent surprise and a read that gave such a good and different ending it made the read so much greater. I’d urge people to pick it up, even just for the majestic final pages.

Frances Bird has always struggled to make friends, or even acquaintances, at school. So when she is asked to show new student Alberta around she thinks that maybe she can make a friend of her own. Smart, witty and slightly posh Alberta seems to welcome Frances as a friend with open arms as they hit it off right away. As their friendship blossoms, Frances finds out more about her best friend – her past, her secrets and plans for the future. The more she finds out about Alberta, she’s not sure it she can hold onto to their friendship for much longer.

I picked up this book because I was absolutely intrigued by the front cover. The ink splatter with smudged typewriter text, it is different to a lot of other YA novel covers. Now I’ve finished the book I can now appreciate the cover so much more as it gives a great insight into what may come which I never picked up when I first started reading the book.

This book had such an interesting start that I was drawn in almost instantaneously. I found that it was a great way to allude to this terrible thing all the way through without mentioning it explicitly, it kept me guessing what had happened and desperate to find out what did. The perceptive nature of this novel added significantly to my enjoyment of this book. Also, the sheer cleverness in the way it was written made me think it was Bert’s fault all along and almost right to the very end. And that, to me, is a very smart way of writing.

Character of Birdy became slowly more and more unhinged, and I genuinely felt it as I was reading. She became more and more naive and needy. The change in her characteristics were subtle but enough for me to grasp this throughout the middle of the book. It also meant a dislike for her character grew for me, as felt sorry for her in beginning, and this kind of development in a character was done particularly well by the author. Jess Vallance captured her mental wellbeing really well, and the slow unhinging of her state was portrayed in a way that was hard to pinpoint initially. A good representation, I believe.

Honestly, I thought storyline may have been a bit dull when I first picked up the book, but wanted to find this huge reveal and that initially kept me going. However, thought it was absolutley genius once I discovered the ending. A good ending makes a book sometimes, and this one definitely did. It was so well written through Birdy’s perception.

This was a really interesting book, and I absolutely adored the ending which for me made the book that whole lot better. Jess Vallance captured Birdy’s slow unravelling in a unique way and I thoroughly enjoyed that.

Leave a Reply

