PLAY LIST FOR THE DEAD BY MICHELLE FALKOFF

I don’t know why, but I am always more drawn to book involving suicide. Nothing morbid – I’d rather read about the aftermath and the effects on the people that cared – and I think it may have something with my dissertation topic last year. But whenever I spy a book of this topic, I am more likely to sit a devour a book like it. And that is exactly what I did.

All Sam knows is that there was a party and a fight. The next thing he knows is that his best friend ends up dead, leaving him with nothing by a playlist of songs. He doesn’t understand why, and the playlist links to many aspects of Hayden’s life. But when those who made his and Hayden’s life hell start turning up hurt and humiliated, Sam begins to think there was more to Hayden’s death than meets the eyes.

As soon as I started reading this book, it reminded me of tones of one of my favourite books – Perks of Being a Wallflower. The sombre, innocent voice of Sam echoed so much of Charlie. And I think this is what started my love for this book. Sam was a character I could get along with. His personality was admirable and there was a quality that Michelle Falkoff had created that made me want to befriend him. There character of Sam was good, and felt tormented. He was multi dimensional and this always makes a character more interesting to read about.

The mystery within this book was good, and I was intrigued as to Sam’s quest to find the truth, but if I am honest I was glad it fizzled out towards the end and focused on Sam coming to terms with the suicide as it focused on conclusion rather than unnatural answers.

This book had themes that I am always drawn to and I think that was the initial reason I picked up the book. It had similar echoes that reminded me of Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher and Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky. It tackled the topics in a delicate yet decisive manner that was portrayed perfectly with the tone and path it took. The writing was done in such a way that I flowed through the book. No jaunty writing, which was wondeful and think that aided my love for this book.

A hauntingly beautiful novel that echoes some of my favourite books. I adored it from begining to end and loved Sam as a character. Give me more of Michelle Falkoff’s books please if they are just as good as this one.

Leave a Reply

