BOOK OF LIES BY TERI TERRY

I am absolutely over the moon that I managed to get my hands on a early proof copy of Teri Terry’s new book – Contagion – out February 2017. All eager and already devouring that book, I thought it would be an apt time to upload my  review for her latest book – Book of Lies. My love for Teri Terry blossomed after Slated, and her next book Mind Games was cleverly written, so when I picked up this book I knew I’d be in for a treat.

Quinn and Piper are twins, separated when they were born and grew up in totally different circumstances. Piper has lived with their Mum and Dad, living a normal teenage life – going to school, popular and a boyfriend to die for. Quinn has lived with their Grandmother, hidden away from the rest of the family – so much that Piper and their father have no idea of her existence. However, when their mother dies unexpectedly in a horrific dog accident – Quinn turns up at her funeral. A shocked Piper hides her new found sister and both are determined to learn as to why they had been kept separate for so long.

I genuinely skipped back from the library, clasping this book under my arm and cracked it open straight away.  The cover is captivating – with the striking mirrored twins means it would probably be a book I’d pick up off the shelf even if I wasn’t determined to find it. The expectations I had were high and  I really was looking forward to this book – as the themes intrigued me highly.

The beginning was good. I thought the story was set up well and established both Quinn and Piper’s contradicting personalities well. I liked the atmosphere where Piper had grown up, and the adjustment of the two girls coming to terms with each other. The dynamics between them were fresh to watch and I liked that. The element of the unknown and determination to find out their secret kept me engaged and I was desperate to discover the truths. These parts of the storyline were good and brought the Teri Terry writing that I love.

However, for the second half of the book I felt they spent too much time in the moors. I’m not sure if it is was because I wasn’t as engaged with this part of the novel being in the moor – a scenery that I wasn’t as bothered about – or that more exciting elements happened back at the city, with much more promise. I wasn’t as in tune with the paths that were taken in the moors. I liked aspects of it though –  and the writing and imagery was vivid and captured the moors perfectly. It was just the events that unfolded maybe. I also found it dragged in parts whilst they were there when it didn’t need to, whereas there were other parts that were brushed over and I would have appreciated a lot more detail – mainly  back in the city and dealing with their father.

The characters were so different from each other, it gave promising dynamics and unique depositions. My favourite was Quinn. She was portrayed really well as the voice Teri Terry had given her was smooth, reasonable and had many layers to it. I found her really well to get along with and read, as well as empathy poured from her. A fantastic character that I just wanted to read on and on with. Similarly, Piper’s boyfriend gave me same feelings. However, with Piper I got frustrated with. Perhaps, she was too one dimensional, as I found her  quite dull, and pushy. Or maybe I just didn’t like her characteristics – which meant that Teri Terry has done her job correctly. A great foreshadowing if so. I think I was more annoyed with her so as each chapter was alternating. Normally, I adore multi narrative books – and I still thought it was pulled off well in this novel-  but as there was such a contrast between the two character, I would have happily listened to Quinn for the whole novel instead. I wouldn’t change it though – the alternating narratives paved way for a good read.

I really liked the ending – and had the fantastic echoes that I had from the beginning of the book. I thoroughly enjoyed Quinn’s outcome (without giving too much away). The prologue was kind of strange and didn’t feel like 5 years difference – although I appreciated it to round the book off.
Although not my favourite Teri Terry book – that title still firmly remains in the hands of Slated – I still thought this was a good book. An incredibly fascinating storyline with diverse characters and mystery that leaves you wanting more, Book of Lies is definitely one to look out for.

Leave a Reply

