THE IMPOSSIBLE KNIFE OF MEMORY BY LAURIE HALSE ANDERSON

I sourced this book out at the library because I absolutely adored Laurie Halse Anderson’s Wintergirls. Her novels are thought provoking and tackle delicate issues that I love reading about. I feel like I get so much out of novels this way and will always find myself leaning towards books of this calobour. And although it took me a while to get into this book, it ended in a way that I really appreciated.

If I’m honest, this book was a bit slow at the beginning. I wanted to get into it immediately, but alas this was not the case. I’m not sure if it was character, the storyline or the writing in general, all I knew was that it took me a while to get my head around and get into the full flow of the book. I was interested in the blurb, and loved Laurie Halse Anderson’s previous novels and had high hopes for this one.

It took me a good time getting used to the characters and specifically Hayley’s attitude. It was so different to others characters I had become accustom to reading about and think her approach was one I had to settle into. Her attitude was tangy and brash, and definitely took a bit of getting used to.

The storyline was incredibly interesting once I got used to it though and once I’d read the first 100 pages I ended up flying through the book. The story whipped me up, and I became affectionate of Hayley once I’d got past her brash attitude.

There were some good messages that spanned from this book. Ones that I was not expected but thoroughly appreciated them at the same time. There were twists that were unexpected and anti climaxes that were actually exciting as it gave a better feel to the novel that I was anticipating. A strangely satisfying ending if I must say so.

Despite a wobbly start, I honestly thoroughly enjoyed this book by the end, and it brought me surprises that I didn’t even know I wanted. Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

