ALL OUR YESTERDAYS BY CRISTIN TERRILL

Oh wow.
That was so much better than I expected. Time travelling can go one of two ways, depending how complex the author wanted to make it. I thought I was going to get thoroughly confused and off track due to the plot but oh my did it just pan out beautifully. The twists were brilliant, even if I could guess them plenty before, I didn’t care because the way it presented wanted to make me carry on reading.
And damn do I love a book that does that.
Em and Finn, I want to read about you again!

Em is trapped in a secret military base, with only the voice of a boy imprisoned next door to her. Desperate to escape the clutches of an evil doctor,Em finds a piece of paper hidden in a drain. A list, in her own hand writing that could help her escape. To finally reconstruct the time machine which always leads to her imprisonment.

Marina adores her best friend James, a science prodigy. Since childhood they have been best friends, and finally James is starting to see her in a different light. But one night, James’ life crumbles. And Marina will do everything in her power to help him.

Both girls are on a race against time. But only one can win.

I wasn’t quite sure what to make of it when I first picked up this book. It was one one of those books that I just picked up from the library on a whim. The cover wasn’t all too incising but I thought I would give it a go. And I am thanking all my lucky stars that I did. I¬†was captured from the very page and became engulfed in this time travelling world.

It honestly did amaze me how the time travelling worked. I thought it was really cleverly thought out – and I loved the way that it was explored. Sometimes with time travel the concept can be confusing or not executed very well, but this time it was. And because of this it definitely helped make the novel.

Two stories interlinks perfectly and I loved that. It was different with the two paralleling stories and thought this start would get me confused. However, they came together in such a way that they hence each storyline. Also, a lot of my excitement came from the way the two stories interacted.

The writing also kept me on my toes and even though I guessed a few twists, I didn’t care because the way that Cristin Terrill presented them were magic. Em and Finn were fantastic characters too, well rounded and dynamic. After finishing the book, I want to know more of their story.

Such a good find, and an amazing surprise. So well executed with fantastic characters. I can’t wait to read more from Cristin Terrill

Leave a Reply

