THIS IS WHERE IT ENDS BY MARIEKE NIJKAMP

OMG, this has been on my TBR pile for as long as I can remeber seeing for the first time pre-being published and promising myself I would get my hands on a copy. The story seemed right up my street – I fell in love with Hate List by Jennifer Brown – and this novel promised similar chilling thrills.

When shots are fired in a packed assembly hall, the lives of numerous high schoolers that day are changed forever as the following hours of their lives come down to life or death.

There was so much emotion packed into this novel it was unreal. There were numerous moments when I just thought that the feelings that were being conveyed were perfectly captured. The wide range of emotions that were explored too were opening and thought they captured the entire ambiance very well.

I absolutely adored the varied narrative that within this novel. The numerous character perspectives provided refreshing aspect to each moment that was provided in the book. They were all varied – yet brilliant- characters that unravelled the story bit by bit. It meant that each page was a revelation.

All the characters were so different too. Unveiling how they all interacted was a fascinating way to reveal the story and thought that the personalities chosen meant the balance was right for the book to come across in a sincere way.

I must admit it took me a little bit to get into than I anticipated. I think it was because I wanted to be gripped by the book instantly and it took a few pages to so. However, once I got past that, I then couldn’t put it down. This was a book that hand on my heart, I willingly chose to read over sleep despite being knackered. I just couldn’t leave it places!

This book was powerful and there were so many parts where I was unsure where Marieke would take it. The approach was delicate, yet tackled the topic in a fantastic way. I’m so glad that I managed to get my hands on this – and absolutely fantastic read.

Leave a Reply

