The Killables by Gemma Malley

Well my mind is a little bit blown. I honestly don’t know what to say about this book. I liked it, honestly I did. But I gained no spark from in, no fire in my belly. I just finished it and feel a little overwhelmed by it. And honestly, I have no idea why.

Set in London 25 years from now, the Horrors have ensued and the country left to a wasteland. Except The City. A place of peace and good. Where evil is eradicated from everyone. A grading system set in place to ensure goodness and to keep the evils out. For Evie, she strives her whole life to be good; a government job and perfect match means she is set for life. But she can’t suppress her evil thoughts from seeping through and is adamant it won’t be long before the system catches up with her.
Now, this book was well written. I felt the words flow and it easy to read. At no point did I stop to skip parts that were too heavy, I read every bit. The drip process of feeding information about the world I thought went down well, I liked that I could slowly build a picture myself of the world that they live in.

However, I wasn’t too keen on the concept. I felt the setup was a little weak, despite the prologue about amygdala, I wasn’t sold on the whole good and evil business. I didn’t feel like I believed it as much as other dystopian novels. I wasn’t invested as much in the story line as I would have liked to have been. I could have happily put it down at any point. The parts where there were major twists, I was shocked as I should have been.I just accepted and moved on rather than ‘OMG’.
Maybe, it was because I honestly didn’t like Evie too much. She was too wet, too dithery for my liking (apart from the end; got a bit of respect from me there to be honest) but her indecisiveness and constant reliance on the male characters bored me a bit. I couldn’t connect with her. And this annoyed me.

As for Raffy and Lucas actually, Gemma you made him sound sulky and desirable (it may have just been my taste) but definitely good male counterpart. And I did find myself torn between the two brothers even though I didn’t want to. Despite Lucas being portrayed as a machine, the more human you made me, the more my sympathy shifted towards him rather than Raffy. Good play.

So, ‘The Killables’ wasn’t bad but wasn’t epically awesome. The set up and concept I felt was a bit weak, but the way it was written and some of the characters definitely brought up the standard. Gemma Malley, although good I definitely prefer ‘The Declaration’ so much more (I have a soft spot for it) but wouldn’t pass up the next book in this series if I saw it on the shelf.

*This review was written after I first read the book three years ago (August 2013). I pulled it out after making my way back into the series with The Disappearances and thought that it would be good to have this book as context.

Leave a Reply

