The Good Girls by Sara Shepard

Okay, so I couldn’t just leave The Perfectionists that way. I wanted to carry it on so much that I bought it to read immediately on my kindle – I mean I was just that much into it. I bought into the whole Perfectionists’ world and was desperate to seek anwsers.

Mackenzie, Ava, Caitlin, Julie, and Parker have done some not-so-perfect things. But even though they all talked about killing rich bully Nolan Hotchkiss, they didn’t actually go through with it. It’s just a coincidence that Nolan died in exactly the way they planned . . . right? Except Nolan wasn’t the only one they fantasized about killing. When someone else they named dies, the girls wonder if they’re being framed. Or are they about to become the killer’s next targets?

I quite liked that this ‘series’ only had two books in. The rush of the first book isn’t quashed by the second book – which tends to always pave a plain way to the disappointing third book. Instead, it was able to maintain the wondeful flow that I felt from the first book without leaving me feeling dud. A fantastic decision!

This book carried straight on and I fell straight into it. I’m so glad I didn’t have to wait for the book to be released, I could just stick my head straight back in. The flow of the characters remained and the constant twists and turns that I appreciated in the last book did too. I took the story to places it needed to go, and another murder fitted well!

I loved the ending. Although I had an incline and kind of guessed it, part of me wouldn’t believe that this is the path we’d be taken down so when it actually was, I was pretty chuffed. It was so much more interesting than a typical ‘whodunnit’ and meant that other areas could be explored. I liked the manipulation of the reader, and did flick back through pages to see how I’d been duped that way.

However, I haven’t found it as memorable as I would like it to be. The ending sticks out like a sore thumb – it was brilliant – the rest doesn’t so. Not like the Perfectionists did, which is a shame.

Good Girls was a good counterpart to the Perfectionists. It may not have been as good, but gave me what I needed from the duology and more. And man, oh man – an ending which I loved!

Leave a Reply

