The Rules of Thought by James Dashner

I’ve been wanting to finish this series for quite a while now, so when the opportunity popped up to read the last two book, I couldn’t resist it. All I remember is that I read the first book really fast – I was on placement at the time – and it was written pretty well, so couldn’t wait to sink my teeth into the next one.

Michael completed the Path. He barely survived in his quest to stop cyber terrorist Kaine, and it revealed far more about Virtnet than Micheal could have ever feared. Kaine is a tangent, a computer program that has become sentient. And Michael’s completing the Path was the first stage in turning Kaine’s master plan, the Mortality Doctrine, into a reality.

The Mortality Doctrine will populate Earth entirely with human bodies harboring tangent minds. Any gamer who sinks into the VirtNet risks coming out with a tangent intelligence in control of their body. And with the takeover already starting, time is of the essence.

I don’t think I ever got fully back into it. I had to remind myself about the story a bit before cracking open the pages – it wasn’t a story that stuck firmly in my brain. I remebered the significant parts, and how well it flowed, but had to refresh a couple of other bits.

I thought it was an interesting storyline and liked where James Dashner was going to take it next. I loved the world that was built up and the continuation of this, but unfortunately this second book was a bit slower than I would have liked. By the time I came to the end of the book, not a lot had actually happened in 324 pages. It felt like just a stepping stone. In trilogies, it always irks me when the second book is used as a stepping stone – like this book was – instead of a decent story of its own.

One part of this story that made me pretty happy though was that they (Micheal and his two friends) actually got to meet in real life. It was a nice element that I feel was needed. Building on all the characters definitely benefited the storyline.

I’m still pretty confused by what is going on though, if I’m being honest. I’m left with so many more unanswered questions by the end of this novel, my head is swimming a bit. It did get a lot better right at the end, which left me with the want to finish the series. Twin the middle, I was questioning whether to abandon the series. This seems like a James Dashner trend (I had the exact same sentiments towards The Maze Runner).

I have the last book out, so might as well give it a try. I just hope it doesn’t take as long to read as this one did and I get the anwsers that have burned for so long.

Leave a Reply

