7 Days by Evie Ainsworth

After reading Crush, I thought I’d give another Evie Ainsworth a go. This was one I’d seen clutched by many a young girl on the train, so I thought it was time I give it a go. And I wasn’t disappointed at all.

Jess’s life is difficult enough without Kez picking on her – it’s turning school from a safe place into a nightmare. Kez has plenty of problems too but she finds comfort in knowing she is better off than Jess – or so she thinks.

The cover is intetesting and definitely makes this book stand out. I think that’s why I kept noticing it before.

The smooth writing flowed like before in Crush, and made for an easy read. At no point did it feel cluncky; I always wanted to read on.

What I liked most about this book was the twist at the end, it really resonated with me. I had an incline that the direction may go different to what was initially perceived but when this occured it shed a whole new light onto the book itself.

I really liked the two different perspectives of the same story – it was what I tried to achieve with my dissertation two years ago but to no where near this success – and happy to see that it is actually successfully achieveable. It worked well, especially with the ending in light and I enjoyed reading both perspectives.

I also liked the difference in characters, and the fact they weren’t as one dimensional as first seen. This made them seem more believable and easier to understand.

This is definitely a must read for the younger audience – the one it is actually aimed towards. I feel like it gives such good perspective on important matters and needs to be read.

I much preferred this book and it was pulled off very well. Enjoyable, even if a little bit heartbreaking too.

Leave a Reply

