Quicksilver by R J Anderson

When I would go to the library, this book always caught my eye, the name and cover look so beautiful.I realised I’d previously read Ultraviolet a couple of years ago and thought I may as well try this sequel. I was bit put off by my previous review – I had kind of forgotten about the book – but still ploughed ahead never the less.

Back in her hometown, Tori Beaugrand had everything a teenaged girl could want—popularity, money, beauty. But she also had a secret. A secret that could change her life in an instant, or destroy it.

Now she’s left everything from her old life behind, including her real name and Alison, the one friend who truly understood her. She can’t escape who and what she is. But if she wants to have anything like a normal life, she has to blend in and hide her unusual… talents.

This book was a bit better than it’s predecessor, but I found that I still wasn’t as invested as I would have liked to have been with the potential that the storyline had. There were numerous parts that I found all a bit too bizarre and wasn’t aided by the narrative or tone of the story at all. Which was a shame.
Writing didn’t flow as well as I would have liked and I think I found this annoying with the first book too. I find myself taking much more time to read the book and get bogged down when I really don’t want to be.
From this book I did enjoy Nikki/Tori’s character but just wish I’d remebered her from the previous book. It took me a while to get into her flow, but once I did I found her an enjoyable character to get along with.
The entire storyline I thought it was dragged on it a bit but the ending was better, and got me more engaged. Why couldn’t it have been like that the whole book!

A slow read, and although it had a beautiful cover and a tolerable ending I probably wouldn’t think twice about it again. Forgettable to say the least.

Leave a Reply

